~Dahlia~   15 comments

Those of you who have followed the story of Dahlia and our puppies remember when I first got her, I was just supposed to foster her. We placed this ad for someone to adopt her.

Then, per Violet, we couldn’t let her go. So we decided to keep her for a while and then I wrote this piece about Dahlia’s surprising delivery.  And after that we adopted Dahlia  and her puppies.  She would never be separated from her babies or have to go somewhere new again, she was home.

This past Wednesday, August 19th, 2009 Dahlia, loving mother to Fiorello and Wisteria passed away.  We don’t know how old she was, we do know  how much she was loved.

In a sad coda, the night she died I got an email from Home Again, the pet microchip company saying Dahlia’s membership was about to expire. She’d been with us one year.

Rest in Peace, Dahlia Klam-Leo.

Posted August 22, 2009 by julieklam in Dogs

15 responses to “~Dahlia~

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Julie, I’m so sorry! I read about Dahlia in your NYT piece. How good that she found you and got to be loved her last year.

  2. Julie, I’m sorry. Losing a dog is so hard – harder than I could have imagined. But the joy is in having had her to love. And in knowing that you made her life so much better.

    Barbara

  3. Julie, so sad! Thinking of you.

  4. Julie, I’m so sorry. How terribly sad. I’m glad that you got to know her and love her, if only for a far-too-brief time.

  5. Oh, Julie! I’m so, so sorry. I know, though, that Dahlia was loved. You gave her such a good home, though.

  6. I’m sending you, Paul, and Violet, my deepest condolences. I’m so sorry to hear about Dahlia–but she did have a lovely life with you. All my love.

    Edan

  7. JK, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m glad you got the time with her that you did and that you gave her a good life her last year. Thinking about you. xx

  8. Oh, Julie. I’m so sorry. I loved the things you wrote about her.

  9. Julie,
    I am so sorry to hear about Dahlia. It is so wonderful that you gave her a home for a year. And also a loving place to become a mother herself. I am sorry I never met her. I didn’t realize you kept the puppies you crazy woman.I am happy for Violet though, Your home must be a blast with all that canine chaos.Give our love and condolesences to Paul and Viloet. Hope to see yopu soon and finally meet the puppies.
    LOve,
    John And Aris

  10. Thank you all so very much, it means everything to me (and the Violet and Paul and the puppies)xxx

  11. Oh, so sad!
    Sniff!
    Lots of hugs and kisses to the other dogs (and the child and husband, too, of course).

  12. So sorry. RIP Dahlia. Woof. 😦

  13. r.i.p., dahlia. back to heaven — as i think doggies are a slice of heaven myself.

  14. She lived her finest year – her last year – with YOU…making a difference in her life.
    While she is gone from you physically, she is always with you – that memory of her that you carry in your heart.

    And my heart, truly, goes out to you.
    Hank’s mom. Annies mom. Moondoggie’s mom.
    hULa’s mom.

  15. Thank you so much, that is such a lovely thing to say.

Leave a Reply

