Barnes and Noble Review   4 comments

Thank you, Brooke Allen!

Please Excuse My Daughter B&N Review

Two recent women’s memoirs have caught my fancy. The first is Please Excuse My Daughter by Julie Klam (Riverhead Books). With wry humor and a pleasing way of combining self-criticism with a genuine forgiveness for her feckless younger self, Klam describes her upbringing as an overindulged and overprotected Jewish-American Princess in the wealthy WASP enclave of Bedford, New York.

Klam’s glamorous mother raised her only daughter to be the kind of pampered wife she had been herself, constantly dragging her away from school for shopping sprees at Bloomindale’s and Bergdorf’s. Well-dressed but painfully unprepared for the world, Klam floundered for years after leaving college until marriage, motherhood, and real financial responsibility forced her at last to grow up. Klam is sweet and charmingly self-deprecating — one suspects that she was never quite as much of a loser as she claims — and by the time I finished the book I felt as though I had a new friend.

Posted July 11, 2009 by julieklam in Tooting

4 responses to “Barnes and Noble Review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just read Please Excuse My Daughter and loved it. Thanks for making me laugh!

  2. dear julie–i just finished your memoir and absolutely loved it! i’m over 60 and now live in westport (for 20 years now), but i lived a parallel life. although i didn’t have indulgent parents, i did live your single life in the city (with a yorkie), married at 37 and had my son at 39. i think you are a great writer and will recommend your book to all my friends.

Leave a Reply

