New York Times Magazine Lives April 5, 2009   11 comments

I wrote this piece about my four dogs. It’s funny, because it’s true!

By the way, here is Northeast Boston Terrier Rescue —my rescue group!

Posted April 4, 2009 by julieklam in Times

11 responses to “New York Times Magazine Lives April 5, 2009

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great essay today. Adore your writing style and have contacted the publicity department at your publisher for a review copy, your tour schedule and more. Keep writing, you have a great voice.

  2. I loved your Lives column today – so funny. I completely identified as I have collected 3 cats the past few years and each one has it’s own special talent for either waking us up in middle of night, pooping all over the house or having seizures. My husband complains like yours but is really a bigger softie than me. I’ll be on the lookout for your writing in the future!

  3. Thank you so much!!

  4. really lovely to once in a while chance upon someone that is not yet a crazy dog lady, but like me firmly on the road…..WAIT! once in suburbia or in a country house you will be let loose!
    bonne chance mon amie!
    from a “normal” person with one or two dogs and clean beautiful homes published numerous times……….i now find myself living on the “Main Line” with over 450 lbs of dog( 2 tibetan mastiffs, a deerhound and a retired guide dog standard poodle).
    in time i have figured how to dog proof our home in order to keep it acceptably clean.
    we are deliriously happy.
    thank you for sharing,
    elise

  5. I loved your Lives article in the Times magazine. It inspired me to order Please Excuse for my wife.

    I can relate. My thirteen-year-old Golden is ready to die and I actually think wants to die but we can’t let her go. Incontinent, arthritic, skin irritation causing the big boy to pull his hair out, he’s a mess. The last year has cost us a fortune at the vet – the price of extreme doggie love. I wish I could put your humorous twist on it but the best I can do is shake my head and smile.

  6. I enjoyed it, too. Usually I just eavesdrop on Lizzie’s half of your fb conversations…

  7. Julie, your story made my day!! I love your writing. Pure simple funny genius. I’m going to order your book for sure.

  8. Thank you, thank you!!!!

  9. Dear Julie Klam:

    Thank you very much on behalf of all of these creatures. Purring and Hissing Kitties are my bosses – and it’s worth it – after everything (the rescue, the vets, the heartbreaks the cleanups, etc.) – just to see them nap, smile, dine and be safe and loved.

  10. See? You were right–it WILL all work out. I know I went right out and ordered your book, and now I see that others have too. So your elderly mama terrier and her babies have brought you a whole new audience. Thanks!

  11. Thank you all so much!!!

Leave a Reply

