Children stories   3 comments

As a parent who is also still a person, I’m very conscious of people not necessarily wanting to hear my cute kid stories.  In fact, the only person I tell them to no-holds-barred is my husband who is actually (coincidentally) also the father of my (at times) cute kid.

I was at lunch with my friend Lizzie a few weeks ago and she told me a story about her nephew. Usually these are even worse than parent’s stories —more along the line of grandparent’s stories or the inane Metropolitan Diary stories –often told in a “kid voice.”  And you feel compelled to respond with a chuckle, shaking your head, “Out of the mouths of babes!” Or worse, they are stories that the party telling is unaware show them in a creepy light, (“After I locked him in the closet for an hour he said, Mommy, I’m not a coat!”) Or they can be gross or too personal. I know you know what I’m talking about.  But Lizzie’s story was really cute and explained in a charming way.  It was simple and fast and told while we were getting up from lunch in a throwaway time-slot. Perfect. In fact, it came back to me later that night and I smiled. I told her that and she said, “I know, I am anti-cute kids stories and curate mine rigorously!”

Now, cute dog stories, on the other hand, bring ’em on!

Posted February 25, 2009 by julieklam in The Kid

3 responses to “Children stories

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I resent the unkind reference to grandparents. Some of my best friends are grandparents. And I shower with one every morning – take that any way you care to 🙂

  2. Arthur, CLEARLY I’m not talking about YOU! I am talking about other boring grandparents!!

  3. yes, and clearly you find my niece/nephew stories hilarious. ;-]

Leave a Reply

