A lot of issues up in the air   5 comments

We don’t know if we’re keeping Sherlock yet. He and Bea are still fighting and he’s taken to occasionally peeing on places that are in our house (like the bed), yet he’s so cute and of course, fat, which I love. Of all the dogs he reminds me the most of Otto and Violet really wants to keep him but she wishes he’d stop barking so much. The other thing she told me this morning is that after this year (Pre-K) she’s not going to school anymore, definitely not Kindergarten regardless of how enthusiastically her teacher tries to portray it. She knows it’s the beginning of the end, because she asked me what comes after that? And I had to admit, 1st grade. And then, is that it? She wanted to know. No, I said, 2nd grade. She nodded in that knowing way she has… no more questions, your honor.

Posted May 1, 2008 by julieklam in Dogs, The Kid

5 responses to “A lot of issues up in the air

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. -Julie
    I just spent my afternoon finishing your book. Words cannot express how much I love your writing, and how we are almost one of the same.
    I am an avid reader, but never in my life did I finish a book and have to google the author just to tell her how great it was.
    I am 27 (turning 28 tomorrow!!), fifth generation Manhattan, and currently in what your describe as the “dark age”. Your book could not have come to me at a better time. I cannot thank you enough for the happy ending and encouragement your writing has filled me with.
    I would love if you could contact me, and we could talk more.
    Thank You again and look forward to hearing from you.

    Your #1 fan
    Michelle

  2. Awww, poor violet. don’t tell her about the whole “work” thing. Tell her about college. That’s as close to being a kid and staying home as one gets after the age of 4.

  3. Michelle, Thank you so much for your kind words about the book– I think there are a lot of us out there! I’m sorry you’re going through a dark time but you will come out the other side.
    Thank you so much again. Be well and best of luck to you! Julie

  4. Aw, Sherlock looks like such a love. Hope things work out. Maybe some dog whispering is in order…or odor. Rescue dogs rock, as you know, but lord knows they can be work. Thanks for a groovy book. (Semper Otto!)

  5. Thank you so much, Martha! Rescue dogs are the best, worth the work. We’re technically “fostering” Sherlock but we tend to keep our fosters, it remains to be seen if Sherlock and Beatrice will get over their difficulties. Stay tuned and thanks again for reading the book!

Leave a Reply

