More LA   Leave a comment

So we’re here in Beverly Hills. Paul and I walked around Rodeo Drive today, what a bunch of crap stores! Jeez! Who shops in Versace and Gucci and Dior and Chanel and Hermes? Crazy people, that’s who! There wasn’t one place we could walk into –oh except Jamba Juice. In all seriousness, I feel like a whitefish out of water. I miss the time in my life where getting a tan was an important and tangible goal. I remember walking around when I was too pained to tan trying to get my hair highlighted by the sun. I was actually sitting by the pool today in jeans with a towel over my head. I’ve become my dad.

The Hollywood thing, though, never gets old. Driving by the studios and seeing the big gates and the ads for the movies. I love it. I love movies and stars and if my husband wasn’t so cool I’d be at Mann’s Chinese Theater right now putting my hands in Mary Pickford’s hand prints and lunching at the Brown Derby. My aunt Mattie gave me a tip –she said go to the hotel bar and order a martooni and then give the glad eye to the movie stars.

Aside from that I am so excited about my LA reading because I’m going to see a lot of people I miss and meet a lot of people I’ve really longed to know. And I hope you’ll be there, too! (Not you, YOU!)

Posted April 6, 2008 by julieklam in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

